News Archives: 2022 Conference Speaker Bios

Benjamin Graybeal  

Benjamin Graybeal Federal Highway Administration U.S. Dept. of Transportation  Benjamin Graybeal is the team leader for Bridge Engineering Research in the FHWA Office of Infrastructure Research. He also leads FHWA’s structural concrete research efforts. His expertise includes bridge engineering, structural concrete, concrete materials, and forensic investigations. He has a wealth of experience with UHPC, having […]

Ted Zoli 

Ted Zoli HNTB  During Ted Zoli’s 30+ years with HNTB, he has led the design of numerous innovative first-oftheir-kind bridges including the hybrid cablestayed Leonard P. Zakim Bunker Hill Bridge in Massachusetts, the network arch Lake Champlain Bridge between New York and Vermont, and the gusset-less truss for Memorial Bridge between Maine and New Hampshire. […]

Julia Nesheiwat 

Julia Nesheiwat Distinguished Fellow at the Atlantic Council  Dr. Julia Nesheiwat brings unique experiences building public private partnerships, and over 20 years in international energy security and resilience, critical infrastructure protection (CIP), climate, and homeland security, serving in the Bush, Obama, Trump, and Biden Administrations.   Julia is currently a Distinguished Fellow at the Atlantic Council, […]

Joseph (Joey) L. Hartmann  

Joseph (Joey) L. Hartmann Federal Highway Administration  Joseph (Joey) L. Hartmann has been the Director of the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Office of Bridges and Structures since 2014. His office is responsible for the development and implementation of Federal regulations, policy and technical guidance that support bridge and tunnel programs to improve safety and design […]

Congressman Mario Diaz-Balart  

Congressman Mario Diaz-Balart   U.S. House Of Representative (FL-25)  Congressman Mario Diaz-Balart is currently fulfilling his 10th term in the U.S. House of Representatives, serving Florida’s 25th congressional district. Diaz-Balart is a senior member of the House Committee on Appropriations, and he is the Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing, and Urban Development, in […]

Mayor Daniella Levine Cava  

Mayor Daniella Levine Cava   Miami-Dade County, Florida   Daniella Levine Cava was elected Miami-Dade County’s first-ever woman Mayor in November 2020. She enters the Mayor’s office following a 40-year career as a relentless advocate for South Florida families in public service and elected leadership. As Miami-Dade County’s Mayor, she oversees a metropolitan government with more than […]

Carmen Swanwick  

Carmen Swanwick   Chair, AASHTO Committee on Bridges and Structures (COBS)   Utah Department of Transportation  Carmen Swanwick is chair of AASHTO COBS. She is the Utah Department of Transportation (UDOT) Region 2 Deputy Director, served as the Department’s Chief Structural Engineer for almost ten years and has over 15 years of experience as a consultant in […]

Firas Sheikh Ibrahim  

Firas Sheikh Ibrahim   Office Of The Assistant Secretary For Research And Technology (OST-R)   U.S. Department Of Transportation  Dr. Firas Ibrahim is the Director of the U.S. DOT’s Office of Research, Development, and Technology. In this role, he provides leadership to ensure that RD&T programs and activities across the Department and University Transportation Centers advance the […]

Kenneth A. Jessell

Kenneth A. Jessell   Interim President   Florida International University  Dr. Kenneth A. Jessell is interim president of Florida International University. He was appointed to this position on Jan. 21, 2022. Prior to his appointment as interim president, Dr. Jessell served as Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration and Chief Financial Officer at FIU from 2009-2022. […]

Atorod Azizinamini

Atorod Azizinamini ABC-UTC Florida International University  Atorod Azizinamini’s research focuses on structural engineering and bridge engineering. He has developed several bridge engineering products and systems, such as the Folded Steel Plate Girder Bridge System that is being used in several states. Under SHRP2 R19A, he developed the “Guide to Service Life Design of Bridges” that […]