2017 National Accelerated Bridge Construction Conference

The 2017 National ABC Conference, sponsored by the ABC-UTC, was co-sponsored by 32 State Departments of Transportation and the Federal Highway Administration. The keynote speaker was James Ray (USDOT Senior Advisor on Infrastructure); other speakers included Caesar Singh (Director, University Grants Program, USDOT) and Romero Garcia (FHWA representative).

Over 600 attended the 2017 Conference, including over 120 bridge engineers from state departments of transportation, 20 bridge engineers from the Federal Highway Administration, and various consultants and other bridge professionals.  Eleven Half-day workshops were held on Wednesday, December 6. The Conference began on Thursday, December 7 with a general session followed by 34 technical sessions with 119 thirty-minute presentations. The Conference concluded on Friday, December 8.

A total of 46 companies exhibited ABC-related products and services to attendees during the 2017 Conference.

Resources from the Conference

Below are lists and descriptions of all technical presentations and workshops at the 2017 National Accelerated Bridge Construction Conference

2017 National ABC Conference, Miami, FL

2017 National ABC Conference-Photo Booth Pics

Workshop Resources

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Morning Workshops (8:00 am – 12:00 pm)

Afternoon Workshops (1:00 pm – 5:00 pm)

2017 National ABC Conference Awards Recipients

The 2017 National Accelerated Bridge Construction Conference gave awards to recognize best ABC projects and most influential person contributing to the cause and implementation of ABC. See the award winners below.

Most Influential Person Contributing to the Cause and Implementation of ABC:  Benjamin Beerman

Best ABC Project in Lateral Slide Technology (Bridge):  PA Turnpike Mainline Bridge WB-224B over Brush Creek Project

  • Owner:  The Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission
  • Designer:  SPK Engineering Inc.
  • Contractor:  Brayman Construction Corporation
  • Slide Engineer:  Tunstall Engineering Group
  • Steel Erector:  Advantage Steel and Construction
  • Additional Contributors:
    • STV, Inc.
  • Contracting Method:  Design-Bid-Build

Best ABC Project in Lateral Slide Technology (Railroad Bridge):  In-Line Replacement of BNSF Bridge 24.8


  • Owner:  BNSF
  • Designer:  TranSystems
  • Contractor:  Hamilton Construction Co.

Best ABC Project in Lateral Slide Technology (Three-Sided Box):  I-15 Northbound, 10600 South Interchange Improvement

  • Owner:  Utah Department of Transportation
  • Designer:  Michael Baker International
  • Contractor:  Granite Construction
  • Additional Contributors:
    • Pierline Engineering
    • Omega Morgan
    • Forterra Structural Precast
  • Contracting Method:  CM/GC

Best ABC Project in Prefabricated Bridge Elements and Systems (Bridge):  US Route 30 over Bessemer Avenue

  • Owner:  Pennsylvania Department of Transportation
  • Designer:  HNTB Corporation
  • Contractor:  Brayman Construction Corporation
  • Additional Contributors:
    • Maser Consulting (LiDAR Survey)
    • Tri-State Design & Development (utility coordination; ROW services; highway design support services during final design)
    • ms Consultants (highway design support services during preliminary engineering)
  • Contracting Method:  Design-Bid-Build

Best ABC Project in Prefabricated Bridge Elements and Systems (Multiple Bridges):  I-40 Bridges Fast Fix 8

  • Owner:  Tennessee Department of Transportation
  • Designer:  Gresham, Smith and Partners
  • Contractor:  Kiewit Infrastructure South Co.
  • Contracting Method:  CM/GC

Best ABC Project in Prefabricated Bridge Elements and Systems (Historic Rehabilitation):  Franklin Avenue Bridge Rehabilitation

  • Owner:  Hennepin County
  • Designer:  HNTB Corporation
  • Contractor:  Kraemer North America, LLC
  • Contracting Method:  Design-Bid-Build

Best ABC Project in Prefabricated Bridge Elements and Systems (Honorable Mention):  Rehabilitation of Bridges No. 03761, 03762, 03764 & 03765 – CT Route 8/25 NB, SB over Lindley Street and Capitol Avenue

  • Owner:  State of Connecticut
  • Designer for Base Technical Concept:  CME Associates, Inc.
  • Designer for Final Design:  WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
  • Contractor:  Manafort Brothers, Inc.
  • Owner’s Representative:  CME Associates, Inc.
  • Contracting Method:  Design-Build


The 2017 National ABC Conference, sponsored by the ABC-UTC, was co-sponsored by 30 State Departments of Transportation, the Federal Highway Administration, and the Transportation Research Board. Thank you to all of our co-sponsors for making the event possible.

  • Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)
  • Transportation Research Board (TRB)
  • Alabama Department of Transportation
  • Alaska Department of Transportation & Public Facilities
  • Colorado Department of Transportation
  • Connecticut Department of Transportation
  • Delaware Department of Transportation
  • Florida Department of Transportation
  • Georgia Department of Transportation
  • Illinois Department of Transportation
  • Iowa Department of Transportation
  • Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development
  • Maine Department of Transportation
  • Michigan Department of Transportation
  • Minnesota Department of Transportation
  • Missouri Department of Transportation
  • Nebraska Department of Roads
  • New Hampshire Department of Transportation
  • New Jersey Department of Transportation
  • New York State Department of Transportation
  • Oregon Department of Transportation
  • Pennsylvania Department of Transportation
  • South Dakota Department of Transportation
  • Tennessee Department of Transportation
  • Texas Department of Transportation
  • Utah Department of Transportation
  • Vermont Agency of Transportation
  • Virginia Department of Transportation
  • Washington State Department of Transportation
  • West Virginia Department of Transportation
  • Wisconsin Department of Transportation
  • Wyoming Department of Transportation

Travel Scholarship Sponsors

A travel scholarship fund was developed to assist engineers from state DOTs attend the conference. We would like to thank the following companies for their support.

Double Diamond Sponsors

FIGG Bridge Engineers, Inc.

Acrow Bridge


Platinum Sponsors

HNTB Corporation




Greenman-Pedersen, Inc.

Gold Sponsors

BCC Engineering

Hardesty & Hanover


McFarland Johnson, Inc.

Michael Baker International



Silver Sponsors

Modjeski and Masters, Inc.


  • Acrow Corporation of America
  • Vector Corrosion Technologies
  • D.S. Brown
  • SPS-Noth America
  • Larsa
  • Contractors Materials Company
  • The Reinforced Earth Company
  • Atlas Pipe Piles
  • Owens Corning Infrastructure Solutions
  • CTS Cement Manufacturing Corporation
  • Mabey
  • R.J. Watson
  • MMFX Technologies/A CMC Company
  • AZZ Metal Coatings
  • Eriksson Technologies
  • Headed Reinforcement Corporation (HRC)
  • U.S. Bridge
  • No Rust Rebar
  • FIGG
  • GeoStabilization International
  • Emseal Join Systems
  • CDR Bridge Systems
  • Meadow Burke
  • National Steel Bridge Alliance
  • Forterra
  • Short Span Steel Bridge Alliance
  • Gannett Fleming
  • CX Consulting
  • Brandsafway
  • Con-Struct Prefabricated Bridge Systems
  • Barnhart Crane & Rigging
  • Mageba
  • Bridge Preservation
  • Kwik Bond Polymers
  • Quality Counts
  • Walo International
  • Omega Morgan
  • Expanded Shale, Clay and Shale Institute
  • Burkhalter Rigging
  • Computer and Structures Inc.
  • Lafarge Ductal
  • Sofistik AG
  • Bentley Systems
  • Sarens
  • Tunstall Engineering Group