Key Researchers

One of the primary objectives of the ABC-UTC is to conduct research that will improve ABC standard practice and develop new knowledge to advance the frontier of ABC. Accomplishing this objective requires available researchers with a diverse set of expertise. The below list of researchers are currently involved in ABC-UTC research or are available for future projects.

Florida International University

Dr. Atorod Azizinamini, P.E.

Atorod Azizinamini, Ph.D., P.E.
Professor and Chair; ABC-UTC Director
Education:  Ph.D., University of South Carolina-Columbia, 1985
Specialty:  Structural and Bridge Engineering
Office:  EC 3677
Phone: (305) 348-3821
Email: aazizina@fiu.edu


Mehmet Emre Bayraktar, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Education:  Ph.D., Purdue University, 2006
Specialty:  Construction Decision and Risk Analysis
Office: EC 2953
Phone: (305) 348-3174
Email: bayrakm@fiu.edu


Fabian Cevallos, Ph.D.
Associate Research Professor
Education:  Ph.D., Florida International University, 2006
Specialty:  Advanced Transportation Technologies
Office: EC 3609
Phone: (305) 348-3144
Email: fabian.cevallos@fiu.edu


Arindam Chowdhury, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Education:  Ph.D., Iowa State University, 2004
Specialty:  Wind Engineering
Office: EC 3604
Phone:  (305) 348-0518
Email: chowdhur@fiu.edu


David-Garber-e1441049590165

David Garber, Ph.D., P.E.
Assistant Professor; ABC-UTC Director of Workforce Development
Education:  Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, 2014
Specialty:  Structural Engineering
Office:  EC 3606
Phone: (305) 348-4879
Email: dgarber@fiu.edu


Dr. Mohammed Hadi, P.E.

Mohammed Hadi, Ph.D., P.E.
Associate Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of Florida, 1990
Specialty:  Transportation Engineering
Office:  EC3605
Phone: (305) 348-0092
Email: hadim@fiu.edu


Youngjib Ham, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2015
Specialty:  Infrastructure Condition Assessment
Office:  EC 2954
Phone: (305) 348-8410
Email: yham@fiu.edu


Xia Jin, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 2007
Specialty:  Transportation Planning
Office: EC 3603
Phone: (305) 348-2825
Email: xjin1@fiu.edu


Kingsley Lau

Kingsley Lau, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of South Florida, 2010
Specialty:  Structural Engineering; Corrosion Engineering
Office:  EC 3607
Phone: (305) 348-6124
Email: kilau@fiu.edu


Seung-Jae-Lee

Seung Jae Lee, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2014
Specialty:  Civil Engineering; Geotechnical Engineering
Office:  EC 3626
Phone: (305) 348-1086
Email: sjlee@fiu.edu


Armin Mehrabi, Ph.D., P.E.
Associate Professor; ABC-UTC Director of Research
Education:  Ph.D., University of Colorado at Boulder, 1994
Specialty:  Structural Engineering
Office: EC 3627
Phone: (305) 348-3653
Email: AMehrabi@FIU.edu


Wallied-Orabi

Wallied Orabi, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2010
Specialty:  Civil Engineering
Office:  EC 2952
Phone: (305) 348-2730
Email: worabi@fiu.edu


Mary Lou Ralls, P.E.

Mary Lou Ralls, P.E.
Principal, Ralls Newman, LLC (Austin, TX); ABC-UTC Director of Technology Transfer
Education:  MSc., University of Texas at Austin, 1984
Specialty:  Bridge Engineering
Phone: (512) 422-9080
Email: ralls-newman@sbcglobal.net


Ton-Lo Wang, Ph.D., P.E.
Professor and Associate Chair
Education:  Ph.D., Illinois Institute of Technology, 1984
Specialty:  Analysis and Dynamics
Office: EC 3672
Phone:  (305) 348-3054
Email: wangt@fiu.edu


Ioannis Zisis, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Education:  Ph.D., Concordia University, 2011
Specialty:  Wind Engineering
Office: EC 3608
Phone:  (305) 348-4869
Email:  izisis@fiu.edu

Iowa State University

Alice Alipour, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of California-Irvine, 2010
Specialty:  Specialty:  Vulnerability Assessment
Phone:  515-294-3280
Email:  alipour@iastate.edu


Doug Gransberg, Ph.D.
Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of Colorado at Boulder, 2004
Specialty:  Construction Cost Estimation and Projection
Phone:  515-294-4148
Email:  dgran@iastate.edu


Brent M. Phares, Ph.D., P.E.
Director II, Institute for Transportation
Adjunct Assistant Professor: Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
Education:  Ph.D., Iowa State University, 1998
Specialty:  Bridge Engineering
Phone: (515) 294-5879
Email: bphares@iastate.edu


Behrouz Shafei, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of California-Irvine, 2011
Specialty:  Structural Engineering; Risk Analysis
Phone:  515-294-4058
Email:  shafei@iastate.edu


Jennifer Shane, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of Colorado at Boulder, 2006
Specialty:  Construction Engineering
Phone:  515-294-1703
Email:  jsshane@iastate.edu


Sri Sritharan, Ph.D.
Wilson Engineering Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of California, 1998
Specialty:  Bridge Engineering
Phone: (515) 294-5238
Email: sri@iastate.edu


Terry J. Wipf, Ph.D., P.E.
Pitt-Des Moines Professor in Civil Engineering
Education:  Ph.D., University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 1983
Specialty:  Bridge Engineering
Phone: (515) 294-6979
Email: tjwipf@iastate.edu

University of Nevada – Reno

Ian Buckle, Ph.D.
Foundation Professor, Director of CCEER
Education:  Ph.D., University of Auckland, New Zealand, 1967
Specialty:  Bridge Engineering – Seismic Isolation
Phone:  (775) 784-1519
Email:  igbuckle@unr.edu


Ahmad Itani, Ph.D., P.E., S.E.
Professor and Chair in the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department
Education:  Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1991
Specialty:  Seismic design of bridges
Phone: (775) 784-4379
Email: itani@unr.edu


Patrick Laplace, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor, Large Scale Structures Laboratory Manager
Education:  Ph.D., University of Nevada, Reno, 2002
Specialty:  Large-Scale Structural Testing
Phone:  (775) 784-8080
Email:  plaplace@unr.edu


Ramin Motamed, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Education:  University of Tokyo, 2007
Specialty:  Bridge Foundations
Phone:  (775) 784-6960
Email:  motamed@unr.edu


Mohamed A. Moustafa, Ph.D., P.E.
Assistant Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 2014
Specialty:  Earthquake Engineering; Hybrid Simulation
Phone: (775) 682-7919
Email: mmoustafa@unr.edu


Gokhan Pekcan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of Buffalo, New York, 1998
Specialty:  Structural Dynamics and Control
Phone:  (775) 784-4512
Email:  pekcan@unr.edu


Keri Ryan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 2004
Specialty:  Seismic Isolation
Phone:  (775) 784-6928
Email:  keri.ryan@unr.edu


Saiid Saiidi, Ph.D., P.E.
Professor in the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department
Education:  Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, 1979
Specialty:  Bridge Engineering; Seismic-Concrete Bridges
Phone: (775) 784-4839
URL: http://wolfweb.unr.edu/homepage/saiidi/
Email: saiidi@unr.edu


David Sanders, Ph.D.
Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin, 1990
Specialty:  Bridge Engineering
Phone:  (775) 784-4288
Email:  sanders@unr.edu

University of Washington

Jeffrey Berman, Ph.D.
Thomas & Marilyn Nielsen Associate Professor
Education:  Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo, 2006
Specialty:  Seismic Behavior of Steel Structures
Phone:  (206) 616-3530
Email: jwberman@uw.edu


Paolo Calvi, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of Toronto, 2015
Specialty:  Seismic Behavior of Reinforced Concrete Structures
Phone:  (206) 616-0511
Email:  pmc85@uw.edu


Marc O. Eberhard, Ph.D.
Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of Illinois-Urbana, 1989
Specialty:  Bridge Engineering (Reinforced Concrete, Earthquakes, Tsunamis)
Phone:  (206) 543-4815
Email:  eberhard@uw.edu


Dawn E. Lehman, Ph.D.
Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1998
Specialty:  Bridge Engineering (Steel and Composites; Earthquakes)
Phone:  (206) 715-2108
Email:  delehman@uw.edu


Mike Motley, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Education:  Ph.D., Princeton University, 2011
Specialty:  Tsunami Engineering
Phone:  (206) 685-1709
Email:  mrmotley@uw.edu


Charles Roeder, Ph.D.
Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Specialty:  Bridge Engineering (Steel and Composites; Earthquakes)
Phone:  (206) 543-6199
Email:  croeder@uw.edu


John Stanton, Ph.D.
Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1979
Specialty:  Bridge Engineering
Phone:  (206) 543-6057
Email:  stanton@uw.edu

University of Oklahoma

Kianoosh Hatami, PhD
Associate Professor, Civil Engineering and Environmental Science
Education: Ph.D., McMaster University, Canada, 1997
Specialty: Geotechnical Engineering and Earthquake Engineering
Phone: (405) 325-3674
Email:  kianoosh@ou.edu


Jinsong Pei, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Education:  Ph.D., Columbia University, 2001
Specialty:  Structural Engineering (Structural Health Monitoring)
Phone:  (405) 325-4272
Email: jspei@ou.edu


K.K. “Muralee” Muraleetharan, Ph.D., P.E., G.E.
Kimmell-Bernard Chair in Engineering, David Ross Boyd and Presidential Professor of Civil Engineering and Environmental Science
Education:  Ph.D., University of California, Davis, 1990
Specialty:  Geotechnical Engineering, Geoenvironmental Engineering, Earthquake Engineering
Phone: (405) 325-4247
Email:  muralee@ou.edu


Naiyu Wang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Education:  Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology, 2010
Specialty:  Structural Engineering, Structural Safety and Reliability
Phone:  (405) 325-3600
Email: naiyu.wang@ou.edu


Musharraf Zaman, Ph.D., P.E.
David Ross Boyd Chair & Aaron Alexander Chair Professor
Education:  Ph.D., University of Arizona, 1982
Specialty:  Geotechnical Engineering, Geomechanics, Materials Testing and Modeling
Phone:  (405) 325-2626
Email:  zaman@ou.edu