Key Researchers

One of the primary objectives of the ABC-UTC is to conduct research that will improve ABC standard practice and develop new knowledge to advance the frontier of ABC. Accomplishing this objective requires available researchers with a diverse set of expertise. The below list of researchers are currently involved in ABC-UTC research or are available for future projects.

Florida International University

Atorod Azizinamini, PhD, P.E.
Director, ABC-UTC
Vasant H. Surti Professor of Civil Engineering
Director, Moss School of Construction, Infrastructure and Sustainability
Director, Preeminent Institute for Resilient and Sustainable Coastal Infrastructure (InteRaCt)
Education: PhD, University of South Carolina-Columbia, 1985
Specialty: Structural and Bridge Engineering
Office:  EC 3677
Phone: (305) 348-3821
Email: aazizina@fiu.edu


Hesham Ali, PhD, P.E., CPM
Research Associate Professor
Education: PhD, City University of New York, 1997.
Specialty: Pavement and Geotechnical Engineering
Office: EC 3602
Phone: (954)224-8660
Email: heaali@fiu.edu


Arindam Chowdhury, PhD
Professor, Director for Wind Engineering Research
Education: PhD, Iowa State University, 2004
Specialty: Wind Engineering
Office: EC 3604
Phone:  (305) 348-0518
Email: chowdhur@fiu.edu


Mohamed ElZomor, PhD
Assistant Professor
Education: PhD, Arizona State University, 2017
Specialty: Engineering Education, Infrastructure Resilience and Sustainable Construction
Office: EC 2955
Phone: 305-348-2257
Email: melzomor@fiu.edu


David-Garber-e1441049590165

David Garber, PhD, P.E.
Assistant Professor, ABC-UTC Director of Workforce Development
Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin, 2014
Specialty: Structural Engineering
Office:  EC 3606
Phone: (305) 348-4879
Email: dgarber@fiu.edu


Dr. Mohammed Hadi, P.E.

Mohammed Hadi, PhD, P.E.
Professor
Education: PhD, University of Florida, 1990
Specialty:  Transportation Engineering
Office: EC3605
Phone: (305) 348-0092
Email: hadim@fiu.edu


Xia Jin, PhD, AICP
Associate Professor
Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 2007
Specialty: Transportation Planning
Office: EC 3603
Phone: (305) 348-2825
Email: xjin1@fiu.edu


Vamsi S. Kalasapudi, PhD
Visiting Instructor
Education: PhD, Arizona State University, 2017
Specialty: Computing and Data Analytics for Construction
Office: EC 2954
Tel: (305) 348-8410
E-mail: vkalasap@fiu.edu


Kingsley Lau

Kingsley Lau, PhD
Associate Professor
Education: PhD, University of South Florida, 2010
Specialty: Structural Engineering; Corrosion Engineering
Office:  EC 3607
Phone: (305) 348-6124
Email: kilau@fiu.edu


Seung-Jae-Lee

Seung Jae Lee, PhD
Assistant Professor
Education: PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2014
Specialty: Civil Engineering; Geotechnical Engineering
Office:  EC 3626
Phone: (305) 348-1086
Email: sjlee@fiu.edu


Xuan Lv, PhD
Assistant Professor
Education: PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, 2018
Specialty area: Infrastructure Management
Office: EC 2956
Phone: 305-348-7466
Email: xulv@fiu.edu


 

Islam Mantawy, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Education: PhD, University of Nevada, Reno, 2016
Specialty: Structural and Bridge Engineering
Office: EC3685
Phone: 305-348-0110
Email: imantawy@fiu.edu


Pezhman Mardanpour, PhD
Assistant Professor, Director of the Fluid-Structure Interaction Lab
Specialty: Mechanical and Material Engineering
Office: EC 3464
Phone: (305) 348-6103
Email: Pezhman.Mardanpour@fiu.edu



Armin Mehrabi, PhD, P.E.
Associate Professor
Education: PhD, University of Colorado at Boulder, 1994
Specialty: Structural Engineering
Office: EC 3627
Phone: (305) 348-3653
Email: AMehrabi@FIU.edu


Wallied-Orabi

Wallied Orabi, PhD
Associate Professor
Education:  PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2010
Specialty:  Civil Engineering
Office:  EC 2952
Phone: (305) 348-2730
Email: worabi@fiu.edu


Nipesh Pradhananga, PhD, P.E.
Assistant Professor
Education: PhD, Georgia Institute of Technology, 2014
Specialty:  Construction Technology and Safety
Office:  EC 2983
Phone: (305) 348-0224
Email: npradhan@fiu.edu


Mary Lou Ralls, P.E.

Mary Lou Ralls Newman, P.E.
Principal, Ralls Newman, LLC (Austin, TX); ABC-UTC Director of Technology Transfer
Education: MSc., University of Texas at Austin, 1984
Specialty:  Bridge Engineering
Phone: (512) 422-9080
Email: ralls-newman@sbcglobal.net


Arif Mohaimin Sadri, PhD
Assistant Professor
Education: PhD, Purdue University, 2016
Specialty: Evacuation Modeling, Network Modeling, Infrastructure Resilience, Shared Mobility
Office: EC 2934
Phone: (305) 348-0018
Email: asadri@fiu.edu


Ton-Lo Wang, PhD, P.E.
Professor and Interim Chair
Education: PhD, Illinois Institute of Technology, 1984
Specialty: Analysis and Dynamics
Office: EC 3672
Phone: (305) 348-3054
Email: wangt@fiu.edu


Lu Zhang, PhD
Assistant Professor
Education: PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, 2016
Specialty: Infrastructure Resilience and Sustainable Construction
Office: EC 2935
Phone: (305) 348-7227
Email: luzhang@fiu.edu


Ioannis Zisis, PhD
Associate Professor
Education:  PhD, Concordia University, 2011
Specialty:  Wind Engineering
Office: EC 3608
Phone:  (305) 348-4869
Email:  izisis@fiu.edu

Iowa State University

Alice Alipour, PhD
Assistant Professor
Education: PhD, University of California-Irvine, 2010
Specialty: Vulnerability Assessment
Phone: 515-294-3280
Email:  alipour@iastate.edu


Justin Dahlberg, MS
Research Engineer
Education: Civil Engineering, Iowa State 2007
Phone: 515-294-5664
E-mail: dahlberg@iastate.edu


 

Katelyn Freeseman, PhD
Associate Director
Bridge Engineering Center
Institute for Transportation
Adjunct Research Professor
Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
Iowa State University
Phone: 515-294-3620
Email: kfreese@iastate.edu


Doug Gransberg, PhD
Professor
Education: PhD, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2004
Specialty: Construction Cost Estimation and Projection
Phone:  515-294-4148
Email: dgran@iastate.edu


Travis Hosteng, MS
Co-Director, NCWTS
Bridge Engineering Center
Institute for Transportation
Iowa State University
Phone: (515) 294-7197
Email: kickhos@iastate.edu


Brent M. Phares, PhD, P.E.
Director II, Institute for Transportation
Adjunct Assistant Professor: Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
Education: PhD, Iowa State University, 1998
Specialty: Bridge Engineering
Phone: (515) 294-5879
Email: bphares@iastate.edu


Behrouz Shafei, PhD
Assistant Professor
Education: PhD, University of California-Irvine, 2011
Specialty: Structural Engineering; Risk Analysis
Phone: 515-294-4058
Email: shafei@iastate.edu


Jennifer Shane, PhD
Director, CMAT
Education: PhD, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2006
Specialty: Construction Engineering
Phone: 515-294-1703
Email:  jsshane@iastate.edu


Sri Sritharan, PhD
Wilson Engineering Professor
Education: PhD, University of California, 1998
Specialty: Bridge Engineering
Phone: (515) 294-5238
Email: sri@iastate.edu


Terry J. Wipf, PhD, P.E.
Pitt-Des Moines Professor in Civil Engineering
Education: PhD, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 1983
Specialty: Bridge Engineering
Phone: (515) 294-6979
Email: tjwipf@iastate.edu

University of Nevada – Reno


Hamed Ebrahimian, PhD
Assistant Professor in the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department
Education: PhD, Structural Engineering, University of California, San Diego, 2015
Specialty: Structural health monitoring and damage diagnosis
Phone: (775) 682-6567
Email: hebrahimian@unr.edu


Ahmad Itani, PhD, P.E., S.E.
Professor and Chair in the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department
Education: PhD, University of Michigan, 1991
Specialty: Seismic design of bridges
Phone: (775) 784-4379
Email: itani@unr.edu


Ramin Motamed, PhD
Assistant Professor
Education: University of Tokyo, 2007
Specialty: Bridge Foundations
Phone:  (775) 784-6960
Email:  motamed@unr.edu


Mohamed A. Moustafa, PhD, P.E.
Assistant Professor
Education: PhD, University of California, Berkeley, 2014
Specialty: Earthquake Engineering; Hybrid Simulation
Phone: (775) 682-7919
Email: mmoustafa@unr.edu


Keri Ryan, PhD
Associate Professor
Education: PhD, University of California, Berkeley, 2004
Specialty: Seismic Isolation
Phone:  (775) 784-6928
Email:  keri.ryan@unr.edu


Saiid Saiidi, PhD, P.E.
Professor in the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department
Education: PhD, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, 1979
Specialty: Bridge Engineering; Seismic-Concrete Bridges
Phone: (775) 784-4839
URL: http://wolfweb.unr.edu/homepage/saiidi/
Email: saiidi@unr.edu


Elnaz Esmaeilzadeh Seylabi 
Assistant Professor
Education: PhD, University of California, Los Angeles, 2016
Specialty: Engineering Seismology and Soil-Structure Interaction
Phone: (775) 682-6568
Email: elnaze@unr.edu

University of Washington

Jeffrey Berman, PhD
Professor
Education: PhD, State University of New York at Buffalo, 2006
Specialty: Seismic Behavior of Steel Structures
Phone: (206) 616-3530
Email: jwberman@uw.edu


Paolo Calvi, PhD
Assistant Professor
Education: PhD, University of Toronto, 2015
Specialty: Seismic Behavior of Reinforced Concrete Structures
Phone: (206) 616-0511
Email:  pmc85@uw.edu


Marc O. Eberhard, PhD
Professor
Education: PhD, University of Illinois-Urbana, 1989
Specialty: Bridge Engineering (Reinforced Concrete, Earthquakes, Tsunamis)
Phone: (206) 543-4815
Email:  eberhard@uw.edu


Dawn E. Lehman, PhD
Professor
Education: PhD, University of California, Berkeley, 1998
Specialty: Bridge Engineering (Steel and Composites; Earthquakes)
Phone: (206) 715-2108
Email:  delehman@uw.edu


Mike Motley, PhD
Associate Professor
Education: PhD, Princeton University, 2011
Specialty: Tsunami Engineering
Phone: (206) 685-1709
Email:  mrmotley@uw.edu


Charles Roeder, PhD
Professor
Education: PhD, University of California, Berkeley
Specialty: Bridge Engineering (Steel and Composites; Earthquakes)
Phone: (206) 543-6199
Email:  croeder@uw.edu


John Stanton, PhD
Professor
Education: PhD, University of California, Berkeley, 1979
Specialty: Bridge Engineering
Phone: (206) 543-6057
Email:  stanton@uw.edu


University of Oklahoma

Royce Floyd, PhD, P.E.
Associate Professor,Graduate Studies Coordinator
Education: PhD, University of Arkansas, 2012
Specialty: Structural Engineering
Phone: 405-325-1010
E-mail: rfloyd@ou.edu


Kianoosh Hatami, PhD, PEng, M. ASCE
Professor
Education: PhD, McMaster University, Canada, 1997
Specialty: Geotechnical Engineering and Earthquake Engineering
Phone: (405) 325-3674
Email:  kianoosh@ou.edu


P. Scott Harvey Jr., PhD, P.E.
Assistant Professor
Education: PhD, Duke University, 2013
Specialty: Structural Dynamics and Earthquake Engineering
Phone: (405) 325-3836
Email: harvey@ou.edu


Shima Mohebbi, PhD
Assistant Professor
Education:  PhD, University of Tennessee, 2015
Specialty: Operations Research, Data Science and Analytics
Phone: (405) 325-3725
Office: CEC 215-D
Email: mohebbi@ou.edu


Jinsong Pei, PhD
Associate Professor
Education: PhD, Columbia University, 2001
Specialty: Structural Engineering (Structural Health Monitoring)
Phone: (405) 325-4272
Email: jspei@ou.edu


K.K. “Muralee” Muraleetharan, PhD, P.E., G.E.
Kimmell-Bernard Chair in Engineering, David Ross Boyd and Presidential Professor of Civil Engineering and Environmental Science
Education:  PhD, University of California, Davis, 1990
Specialty: Geotechnical Engineering, Geoenvironmental Engineering, Earthquake Engineering
Phone: (405) 325-4247
Email:  muralee@ou.edu


Chris Ramseyer, PhD, P.E., FACI
Professor
Education: PhD, University of Oklahoma, 2005
Specialty: Structural Engineering, Civil Engineering Materials
Phone: (405) 325-1415
Email: ramseyer@ou.edu


Jeffery Volz, SE, PE, PhD
Associate Professor
Education: PhD, Pennsylvania State University, 2008
Specialty: Architectural engineering, civil engineering, structural engineering
Phone: (405) 325-1489
Email: volz@ou.edu


Naiyu Wang, PhD
Assistant Professor
Education: PhD, Georgia Institute of Technology, 2010
Specialty: Structural Engineering, Structural Safety and Reliability
Phone: (405) 325-3600
Email:  naiyu.wang@ou.edu


Musharraf Zaman, PhD, P.E., F. ASCE
David Ross Boyd Chair & Aaron Alexander Chair Professor
Education: PhD, University of Arizona, 1982
Specialty: Geotechnical Engineering, Geomechanics, Materials Testing and Modeling
Phone: (405) 325-2626
Email:  zaman@ou.edu